Things I enjoy that make me unhappy

October has been gorgeous so far, with the leaves changing colour and perfect temperatures. In theory, I like this time of year, but my body seems to know what’s coming and, like a bear preparing for hibernation, I start sleeping more and I stock up on carbs as though food will be scarce over the winter months (it won’t be). My mood becomes more fragile and, if I don’t fight it, I’ll sink into a malaise, that blah-meh feeling that has no apparent cause.

It’s a catch-22, because one of my favourite things to do when the days get shorter and the temps get colder, is to cozy up in front of a warm fire with my book / laptop / crossword puzzle and a cup pot of tea, but if I spend too much time doing that, I start to feel lethargic. I feel safe and cozy where I am, so I resist the idea of going out, or even getting up. To fight that inertia, I need to schedule activities so I don’t spend too much time doing the things I enjoy doing that make me unhappy. Make sense?

So, I’ve been getting my winter schedule sorted out. It will include:

  • volunteering with struggling readers at the local school 3x/week
  • working out with a personal trainer at the local YMCA (because after a year of telling myself I don’t need to spend money on a trainer to work out, I’ve stopped believing my lies)
  • monthly book club meetings (it’s been on hold over the summer)
  • weekly curling league (somewhat reluctantly, as I failed to improve last year)
  • regular games nights with Bill & Lorrie and Rick & Josee (cards, board games, darts, pool))

All of that should force me to get up and move when I don’t feel like moving, and to get out and socialize when I don’t feel like being social. Then I can go into hibernation mode in between those activities without becoming too bear-like.

We finished our second week of pet-sitting near Perth and had fantastic weather the whole time. The dogs learned to play well together, with only occasional bouts of jealousy from Juno.

I stayed with the dogs and cat while Ray joined the guys at Rob’s cottage for a ‘lumberjack weekend’ to chop up a tree that came down during last spring’s storm. It had all the elements of a perfect guys’ get-together – power tools, golf, fire, beer, BBQ, steaks, sports on TV, and lots of banter. Also, aching muscles all around.

In my fave spot, the window seat…though it could get a little crowded at times.
Ray & Russ kayaking on Christie Lake (Russ in pic)
Stewart Park in Perth. Such a pretty town.

We picked Nick up on our way home from the pet sit and got to keep him for about 30 hours! This afternoon, we had a Thanksgiving lunch with turkey and all the trimmings. Megan came by, and so did Karen and my nephew (who I hadn’t seen since pre-covid). Juno was over-the-moon to be back in familiar surroundings with no animals to steal her thunder, AND not one, not two, not three, but FOUR of her favourite people to give her scritches and attention.

Adam and Juno in a battle for the ball (Juno won).
Karen & Adam

So much to be thankful for. Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Things I enjoy that make me unhappy

Leave a comment